Task 1. Self-Portrait project. When I grow up, I’m going to be a movie star.

For our Image Making session we have to create a set of Self Portrait images. After researching and lectures given buy our tutor I got inspired by work of American photographer Cindy Sherman who is famous for creating a set of self-portraits which looks like stills from Alfred Hitchcock movies

.f1e1dd5881b3360a14456e79a64400f1cindysherman-untitled-film-still-21-1978

I’m fascinated by films of the 50s and the 60s. My favorite actresses are Marilyn Monroe and Brigitte Bardot and I decided to recreate cinematic stills inspired by the stills taken from their films. I used Tripod to create these images and I think they went quite well.

These series of images are called: “When I grow up, I’m going to be a movie star.”

victoria-self1

this one is inspired by Brigitte Bardot.

victoria-self2

This one is inspired by Marilyn Monroe

victoria-self3

and this one is inspired by Catherine Deneuve in Roman Polanski “Repulsion”.

And here are the images that I used for my inspiration.

tumblr_ndla7ocxsv1slpgsoo1_1280tumblr_m94gtrbpvq1rul956o1_128082359cccab40a36031a216222455c7fb

Leave a Reply

